Outside

160403 - Parks not malls

Often, I find myself wondering what to do on the weekends, the usual chores aside. But invariably, I end up walking around my apartment building, going round and round the parking lot; or walking around malls. Neither of which are particularly engaging.

All these just make me dream of large parks that I can just walk down to, along streets filled with trees, where I can sit under a tree, read a book, or feel the grass under my feet. And no, such parks don’t exist for the most part (Fun fact: According to one article, Delhi has more area under parking lots than parks. Go figure). I guess most of our cities leave a lot to be desired for. And reading headlines like this (“Children spend less time outside than prison inmates“), just puts things in perspective.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

