Food, music, sandy beaches and Murphy’s law.

It was one of those days when I felt sorry that my camera has been gathering dust in a corner and I was bored with staring at a computer screen all day. And the idea of sitting at home on a Saturday evening was just too hard to bear. So in went my camera into my backpack, my rather thin wallet, some change for the inevitable commute and I was off to the street food festival to be held in Elliot’s beach, Besant Nagar. One long commute and a couple of interchanges later I was finally taking my cam out at the beach. Then it just took a click to realise I had lugged my cam all the way for no reason since the memory card lay forgotten at home. Murphy messes with my life again. *sigh*

Well, everything happens for a reason, or so we’ve been told many times. And sometimes, I guess its more fun to look at things directly with your eyes rather than through the view finder. So I did end up having an eventful evening after all (Plus I did click some blurry pictures with my phone. Definitely not perfect, but not too bad I guess!)

So captured here is the ‘Enjoy Arusuvai Thiruvizha’, the street food festival organised by Rotary international district 3230 with the aim to generate funds for their ‘happy village’ project for the sustainable development of rural infrastructure and livelihoods.

Also happening were NBA 3X, a three-on-three basketball tournament, presented by Sprite and hosted by the National Basketball Association (NBA) and Chennai Beach Frisbee Club events.

So basically, just lots of sport, music, food and people – all ingredients of a great evening. And in case any of you wish to catch these events, you have a little more than 2 hours to get to Elliot’s beach today, for like all good things, these events too are coming to an end.

Leave a Reply

